Bounty Islands

The Bounty Islands are a small group of 13 uninhabited granite islets and numerous rocks in the south Pacific Ocean that are territorially part of New Zealand. They are located about 670 km (416 mi) east-south-east of the South Island of New Zealand, and 530 km south-west of the Chatham Islands. The group is a World Heritage Site.

The Bounty group has been identified as an Important Bird Area (IBA) by BirdLife International because of its significance as a breeding site for Erect-crested Penguins, Salvin's Albatrosses and Bounty Shags.

Things to See and Do

* Bird watching

General information

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency - New Zealand dollar (NZD)
Language – English, Maori
Land Area – 1.35 km²
Electricity – 2 round pins European style, two parallel flat pins Japanese style
Time - GMT plus 12 hours
International Country Telephone Code – + 64

Transport Links – The Bounty island can only be accessed by boat from New Zealand.

Information on this Web Site has been obtained from the Cruise Companies represented. However, the cruise industry is constantly changing and should be used as a guide only. We are unable to take responsibility for incorrect information and you must confirm all details at the time of booking.