Chatham Islands

The Chatham Islands is an archipelago in the Pacific Ocean about 680 kilometres (420 mi) southeast of New Zealand. It consists of about ten islands within a 40-kilometre (25 mi) radius, the largest of which are Chatham Island and Pitt Island.

The Chatham Islands sit on the international date line between the South Pole and the equator. The main settlements on Chatham Island are at Waitangi, Kaingaroa, Te One, Port Hutt and Owenga. Most of the Chatham Island economy is based on fishing and Crayfishing, with only a fragment of adventure tourism.

Things to See and Do

* Chatham Islands Museum
* Flora and fauna
* Seal colonies
* Bird life
* Nunuku’s Cave – Moriori Rock Carvings

General information

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency - New Zealand dollar (NZD)
Language – English, Maori
Population – 650 approx
Land Area - 966 km2
Electricity – 2 round pins European style, two parallel flat pins Japanese style
Time - GMT plus 12 hours
International Country Telephone Code – + 64

Port Location – The main port is located at Waitangi, on Chatham Island.

Transport Links – Visitors to the Chathams usually arrive by air from Christchurch, Auckland or Wellington (around 1.5 – 2 hours from Christchurch on a Convair 580) to the airport on Chatham Island.

While freight generally arrives by ship (4–5 days' sailing time), the sea journey takes too long for many passengers, and is not always available

Information on this Web Site has been obtained from the Cruise Companies represented. However, the cruise industry is constantly changing and should be used as a guide only. We are unable to take responsibility for incorrect information and you must confirm all details at the time of booking.