Kura Kura (Karimunjawa), Indonesia

Karimunjawa is an archipelago of 27 islands in the Java Sea, Indonesia, approximately 80 kilometers northwest of Jepara. The main island is known as Karimun (2,700 ha), while the second largest island is Kemujan (1,400 ha).

Twenty-two islands have been declared as a marine national park. Five more islands are either privately owned or are under the control of the Indonesian Navy. The islands have known with extensive coral reefs; a mixture of fringing and patchy reefs. There are a number of dive sites and an upmarket dive resort.

Things to See & Do

* Island beaches
* Coral reefs
* Snorkeling & diving
* Hiking around the island
* Buy local wood carvings

General information

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency – Rupiah (IDR)
Language – Indonesian
Electricity – 2 round pins European style
Population - 7,500 approx.
Land Area – 78 km²
Time - GMT plus hours seven hours
International Country Telephone Code – +62

Port Location – The chief is located at Karimunjawa island.

Travel Links – There are chartered plane from Semarang that flies from Semarang to Dewandaru Airport in Kemujan island. There also a regular ferry that sail from Tanjung Emas port in Semarang and Jepara port to Karimunjawa island.

Information on this Web Site has been obtained from the Cruise Companies represented. However, the cruise industry is constantly changing and should be used as a guide only. We are unable to take responsibility for incorrect information and you must confirm all details at the time of booking.