Iles Layoute (Loyalty Islands), New Caledonia

The Loyalty Islands are an archipelago in the Pacific. They are part of the French territory of New Caledonia, whose mainland is 100 km away. The archipelago consists of six inhabited islands: Lifou, Maré, Tiga, Ouvéa, Mouli and Faiava Island, as well as several smaller uninhabited islands and islets. The islands are relatively flat with sparse vegetation, but their grand cliffs, caves and unblemished beaches offer spectacular beauty.

Lifou is the largest and most populated of the main islands. It has a magnificient coastline and tropical forest interior. We`, the administrative centre of the islands, is located on Lifou, on the edge of Chateaubriand Bay. Lifou and the other islands offer a variety of water sports, adventure activities, cultural tours and island exploration.

Things to See and Do

* Guided island tours
* Adventure activities
* Water sports
* Caves & beaches
* Snorkelling & Diving

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency – CFP franc (XPF)
Language – French, Tahitian
Land Area – 1,981 km²
Population – 24,000 approx
Electricity – 2 angled flat pins and 1 round pin centred below Australian style
Time – GMT minus ten hours
International Country Telephone Code – + 689

Port Location – The main port is located at the main village of We`, on Lifou island.

Transport Links – Air Caledonie flies to the Loyalty islands several times per day.

The high speed catamaran ‘Betico’ connects Noumea to the Loyalty islands several times a week.

Information on this Web Site has been obtained from the Cruise Companies represented. However, the cruise industry is constantly changing and should be used as a guide only. We are unable to take responsibility for incorrect information and you must confirm all details at the time of booking.