The Republic of Kiribati, is an island nation located in the central tropical Pacific Ocean. It is composed of 32 atolls and one raised coral island, of which 21 are uninhabited. It is sub-divided into three main groups known as the Gilbert Islands, the Phoenix and the Line Islands. The capital is Tarawa, an atoll in the Gilbert Islands. Bairiki, an islet of Tarawa, serves as an administrative center.

The majority of the atolls are barely more than six metres above sea level and surrounded by barrier reefs creating picturesque lagoons for a variety of water sports. Most attractions are located at Tarawa.

Things to See and Do

* Cultural Museum - Tarawa
* Handicraft shops
* Taiwan Park & Dai-Nippon Causeway - Tarawa
* Shipwreck diving
* Biketawa Picnic & Camping Islet – Nth Tarawa

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency – Australian dollar (AUD)
Language – I-Kiribati, English (official)
Land Area – 811 km²
Population – 106,000 approx
Electricity – 2 angled flat pins and 1 round pin centred below Australian style
Time – GMT plus twelve hours
International Country Telephone Code – + 686

Port Location – Anchorage is available at Betio on Tarawa.

Transport Links – The most convenient way to get to Kiribati is mainly by air with scheduled air services provided by Air Nauru and Air Pacific. Air Nauru operates four times a week to Tarawa while Air Pacific operates from Nadi (Fiji) connecting Christmas Island.

Norwegian Cruise Lines offers a stop on Fanning Island on their 11 and 10 day Hawaiian cruises. The cruises depart in Hawaii and stop for approximately 8 hours on the island.

Information on this Web Site has been obtained from the Cruise Companies represented. However, the cruise industry is constantly changing and should be used as a guide only. We are unable to take responsibility for incorrect information and you must confirm all details at the time of booking.